Office of Multilateral Nuclear and Security Affairs (ISN/MNSA)

The Office of Multilateral Nuclear and Security Affairs leads the Department of State’s efforts in formulating and implementing U.S. policy relating to the global nuclear nonproliferation regime, especially the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, the NPT review process, Nuclear-Weapon-Free-Zone treaties and protocols, and nuclear-related security assurances.

ISN/MNSA also coordinates the Bureau’s participation in the Group of 7 Nonproliferation Directors Group, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Committee on Nonproliferation, and nonproliferation dialogues with the European Union. ISN/MNSA officers develop material in support of and serve on U.S. delegations at these meetings as well as other summit meetings, ministerials, meetings of international organizations, and bilateral or multilateral discussions aimed at furthering U.S. nuclear nonproliferation objectives.

ISN/MNSA also coordinates U.S. policy regarding International Atomic Energy Agency safeguards, security, management, technical cooperation and nuclear applications. The office manages the U.S. extra-budgetary contribution to the IAEA, which supports the IAEA’s efforts in promoting nuclear safeguards, nuclear safety and security, and the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, including through the IAEA Peaceful Uses Initiative and technical cooperation programs.

Additionally, ISN/MNSA is responsible for U.S. policy relating to fissile material control measures other than the negotiation of a global fissile material cutoff treaty, as well as those aspects of such a treaty that would involve the IAEA and IAEA safeguards. Jointly with the Bureau of Arms Control, Verification, and Compliance, ISN/MNSA manages compliance of the augmentation of such a treaty with political measures concerning existing stocks.

ISN/MNSA also oversees interagency and intra-governmental policy coordination, as well as the development and implementation of diplomatic initiatives in pursuit of U.S. nuclear nonproliferation objectives. The office is comprised of a number of foreign affairs specialists and physical scientists, as well as includes a team of part time consultants.

Director: James Wayman