CTBT: Annex 2 States

Fact Sheet
Bureau of Arms Control, Verification, and Compliance

Key Point:Annex 2” States are the states that must ratify the Treaty and deposit their instruments of ratification with the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) to enter into force. These 44 states are those that participated in the negotiation of the CTBT from 1994-1996 and that possessed nuclear power or research reactors at the time.

There are eight Annex 2 States that have yet to ratify the Treaty - China, Egypt, Iran, Israel, and the United States of America, which have signed the Treaty, and North Korea, India, and Pakistan, which have not signed.

Progress Toward Ratification

President Obama announced his intention to pursue U.S. ratification of the CTBT in April 2009.