Bureaus/Offices Reporting Directly to the Secretary

The immediate Office of the Secretary (S) is comprised of the Secretary's Chief of Staff, the Counselor of the Department, Deputy Chief of Staff, the Secretary's secretary, the Executive Assistant, two special assistants, the Secretary's scheduler, staff assistant, and two personal assistants. This staff handles all of the day-to-day matters of the Secretary, including meetings at the Department, functions in Washington and throughout the country, and travel around the world.

In addition, there are several other offices attached to the Secretary's office as indicated in the navigation bar at left.

Special Offices and Officials

The President and the Secretary of State appoint special representatives, envoys, advisers, and coordinators for top-level foreign policy issues.