Directory of Key Officials and Senior Management

FY 2005 Performance and Accountability Report
Bureau of Resource Management
November 2005


Condoleezza Rice - Secretary of State

Robert B. Zoellick - Deputy Secretary of State

John R. Bolton - United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations

Arms Control and International Security Affairs

Robert Joseph - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation - Stephen G. Rademaker, Acting
  • Bureau of Political-Military Affairs - John Hillen
  • Bureau of Verification, Compliance and Implementation - Paula A. DeSutter

Economic, Business and Agricultural Affairs

Josette Sheeran Shiner - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs - E. Anthony Wayne

Democracy and Global Affairs

Paula J. Dobriansky - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor - Barry F. Lowenkron
  • Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs - Anthony Rock, Acting
  • Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration - Richard L. Greene, Acting


Henrietta H. Fore - Under Secretary

  • Director General of Foreign Service and Director of Personnel - W. Robert Pearson
  • Bureau of Administration - Frank Coulter, Acting
  • Bureau of Consular Affairs - Maura Harty
  • Bureau of Diplomatic Security - Richard J. Griffin
  • Overseas Buildings Operations - Charles E. Williams
  • Bureau of Information Resource Management, Chief Information Officer - Jay N. Anania, Acting
  • Foreign Service Institute - Barry L. Wells, Acting

Political Affairs

R. Nicholas Burns - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of African Affairs - Jendayi Frazer
  • Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs - Christopher R. Hill
  • Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs - Daniel Fried
  • Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs - C. David Welch
  • Bureau of South Asian Affairs - Christina B. Rocca
  • Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs - Thomas A. Shannon
  • Bureau of International Organizational Affairs - Kristen Silverberg
  • Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement - Nancy J. Powell, Acting

Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs

Karen P. Hughes - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Public Affairs - Sean McCormack
  • Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs - Dina Powell
  • Bureau of International Information Programs - Alexander C. Feldman

Other Senior Officials

  • Chief of Staff to the Secretary of State - Brian Gunderson
  • Executive Secretariat - Harry K. Thomas, Jr.
  • Counselor of the Department - Philip Zelikow
  • Director, Office of Policy Planning - Stephen Krasner
  • Assistant Secretary for Resource Management and Chief Financial Officer - Sid Kaplan, Acting
  • Legal Adviser - John B. Bellinger III
  • Inspector General - Howard J. Krongard
  • Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights - Gregory B. Smith, Acting
  • Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Legislative Affairs - Jeffrey T. Bergner
  • Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Intelligence and Research - Carol A. Rodley, Acting
  • Chief of Protocol - Donald B. Ensenat
  • Coordinator for Counterterrorism - Henry Crumpton


United States Department of State Organizational Chart
Organization Chart for the Department of StateD
(View larger image)


< Go to Previous Page        Go to Next Page >