World Food Prize Laureate Announcement Ceremony

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
June 23, 2016

The names of this year’s World Food Prize honorees will be announced at the 2016 World Food Prize Laureate Announcement Ceremony, where The Honorable Gayle E. Smith, Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development, will deliver keynote remarks. Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs Kurt Tong will host the event, to be held Tuesday, June 28, at 11:00 a.m. at the Benjamin Franklin Room of the U.S. Department of State. Special Representative for Global Food Security, Nancy Stetson, will deliver remarks and greetings on behalf of U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry. Former U.S. Ambassador to Cambodia, Kenneth M. Quinn, will announce the names of the honorees for this year, which marks the 30th Anniversary of the establishment of the World Food Prize.

The remarks will be open to the press.

Pre-set time for video cameras: 9:45a.m. from the 23rd Street entrance.

Final access time for writers and stills: 10:00 a.m. from the 23rd Street entrance.

Media representatives may attend this event upon presentation of one of the following: (1) A U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification card (driver's license, passport).

The ceremony will be livestreamed at

For further information, please contact the Economic and Business Affairs Public Diplomacy Office at, or visit or Twitter @EconEngage.