The 16th Awards for Corporate Excellence

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
December 8, 2014

Under Secretary of State for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment Catherine Novelli will announce and present the 16th Awards for Corporate Excellence (ACE) on Tuesday, December 9, 2014, at 9:15 a.m. in the Benjamin Franklin Diplomatic Reception Room of the U.S. Department of State.

The ACE, established in 1999, emphasizes the important role U.S. businesses can play abroad to advance ethical practices, sustainable development, and democratic values through exemplary conduct in their overseas operations.

This year, U.S. ambassadors nominated 39 U.S.-based companies operating overseas. A senior interagency committee selected the three winners from among the following nine finalists: Chevron Corporation in Burma, The Coca-Cola Company in the Philippines, ContourGlobal in Togo, EcoPlanet Bamboo Group in Nicaragua, General Electric South Africa Technologies (Pty) Ltd., General Electric in Tunisia, GlassPoint Solar in Oman, The Linden Centre in China, and Wagner Asia Equipment, LLC, in Mongolia. The names of the winners will be publicly and officially announced at the ACE ceremony.

The ceremony will be open to the press and streamed live on

Pre-set time for cameras: 7:45 a.m. from the C Street entrance

Final access time for writers and still photographers: 8:30 a.m. from the 23rd street entrance

Media representatives may attend this briefing upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification (driver’s license or passport).

For further information about access to the event please contact the Department of State Office of Press Relations at (202) 647-2492. Media with further questions about the Award for Corporate Excellence may contact the Office of Economic Policy Analysis and Public Diplomacy at