AFSA to Host Awards Ceremony on June 18

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
June 17, 2014

The American Foreign Service Association will present the 2014 AFSA Awards Ceremony at the Department of State’s Benjamin Franklin Diplomatic Reception Room at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 18. The ceremony will be hosted by AFSA President Robert Silverman.
Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns, Under Secretary of State for Management Patrick F. Kennedy, and Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs Charles H. Rivkin will be among those making remarks at the ceremony.
Since 1968, AFSA has recognized those in the Foreign Service who have demonstrated intellectual courage, exemplary performance, and outstanding service. AFSA awards are the only awards in the federal government to honor dissent.
AFSA’s highest award, the award for Lifetime Contributions to American Diplomacy, will be presented to Mr. Charles Stuart Kennedy, Jr.
Other 2014 Award winners are:
Constructive Dissent: Foreign Service Officers Ambassador Jonathan Addleton (Christian A. Herter Award), David Holmes (William R. Rivkin Award) and William O’Bryan (W. Averell Harriman Award); and Foreign Service Specialist Nick Pietrowicz (F. Allen ‘Tex’ Harris Award).
Exemplary Performance: Office Management Specialist Carol K. Backman (Nelson B. Delavan Award); eligible family member Kari Osborne (Avis Bohlen Award); and Community Liaison Officer Mary Kay Cunningham (M. Juanita Guess Award).
For additional information on the awards and their recipients visit
The award ceremony is open for press coverage. Members of the press wishing to attend should contact Public Affairs Officer Brenda Greenberg at 202-647-4282.
Pre-set time for cameras: 2:45 p.m.
Final access time for all press: 3:30 p.m. (23rd Street entrance)
Media representatives may attend this award ceremony upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification (driver’s license or passport). Those who do not have a State Department building pass should allow adequate time to clear through security at the 23rd Street entrance.