International Journalists Explore U.S. Democracy and Best Media Practices on Edward R. Murrow Program Exchange

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
October 28, 2013

One hundred international journalists will begin a three-week exchange this week as participants in the Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists.

The Murrow program is an innovative public-private partnership between the U.S. Department of State and nine leading U.S. schools of journalism.

On October 30, Secretary of State John Kerry will address the group and take questions at the Department of State. Following Secretary Kerry, the Department of State Spokesperson Jen Psaki will take questions from the foreign journalists. The event will be closed to outside media.

Additionally, the group will meet with journalists and authors, including noted Washington Post journalist Bob Woodward, during their time in the nation’s capital.

Next, the group will divide into regional groups to work with one of the following U.S. schools of journalism:

Groups will then travel to Portland, Oregon; Madison, Wisconsin; Tulsa, Oklahoma; Huntsville, Alabama; Las Vegas, Nevada; Seattle, Washington; and San Francisco or San Diego, California.

They will then reconvene in New York City, where they will visit major media outlets and be part of discussions on the essential role of independent media in fostering and protecting freedom of expression and democracy. The program will conclude November 15.

The Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists honors the legendary CBS News radio reporter whose career included historic coverage of World War II and later critical reporting on Senator Joseph McCarthy. Murrow would go on to be appointed director of the U.S. Information Agency.

The Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists is a flagship initiative of the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs’ International Visitor Leadership Program and has brought more than 1,000 foreign journalists to the United States on the invitation only program since 2006. Contact for media availability.

PRN: 2013/1300