The United States' Participation as an Observer to the Pacific Alliance

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
July 19, 2013

The United States Government thanks the Governments of Colombia, Mexico, Peru, and Chile for welcoming the United States as an observer to the Pacific Alliance today. We look forward to developing closer cooperation with the Alliance.

The United States applauds the progress the Pacific Alliance has made to integrate its markets and the strong economic policies pursued by its members as examples for Latin America. We intend to use our observer status to recognize and support these achievements and to advance the values we share with the member states, including commitments to expanding free markets, reducing inequality, opening trade, and welcoming foreign investment.

The United States already enjoys strong and productive economic relations and a free trade agreement with each Pacific Alliance member country. Our participation as an observer is a natural extension of those existing economic relationships and our cooperative efforts under the Trans-Pacific Partnership with Alliance members Chile, Peru, and Mexico.

The Department of State and the Office of the United States Trade Representative will lead the United States’ participation.

PRN: 2013/0906