Release of Magnitsky List

Press Statement
Patrick Ventrell
Acting Deputy Spokesperson, Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
April 12, 2013

Today the State Department, in concert with the Treasury Department, submitted to Congress, as required by the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act, a list of persons who have been determined, based on credible information, to meet the criteria described in that Act. Such criteria include responsibility for the detention, abuse, or death of Sergei Magnitsky, or involvement in certain other gross human rights violations in Russia, as defined by the law.

Persons on this list are banned from receiving or holding visas to enter the United States. Their property and interests in property subject to U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and transactions in such property or interests in property are prohibited. The names may be found at the following link:

PRN: 2013/0403