U.S. Department of State Honors Feruza Masharipova of Uzbekistan as State Alumni Member of the Month

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
November 7, 2012

The U.S. Department of State selected Feruza Masharipova of Uzbekistan as November’s State Alumni Member of the Month. Throughout November, Masharipova’s leadership in developing Uzbekistan’s teachers and students of the English language, will be recognized on the State Alumni website, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs’ official website for the more than one million Department-sponsored exchange alumni worldwide. Each month, the Bureau’s Office of Alumni Affairs, which supports alumni as they build on their exchange experiences, confers this award on an outstanding alumnus or alumna.

Masharipova is an alumna of the Teaching Excellence Awards (TEA)* and the Junior Faculty Development Program (JFDP). She employs her experience from these programs to give back to her home community of Urgench in Uzbekistan’s northwestern Khorezm region. Thanks in part to the experience she gained on these exchange programs, Masharipova was able to earn a position on the English language staff at Urgench University where she quickly catapulted into a leadership role. This role now enables her to share the creative and engaging instructional techniques she gained on her exchanges with her university colleagues Masharipova also greatly contributes to the thriving exchange alumni community in Uzbekistan’s Khorezm region. She regularly invites alumni to give presentations at her teacher trainings and to share their experiences in the United States with her students. By bringing alumni together, Masharipova has created a sense of belonging among regional alumni while also extending the benefits of alumni expertise to people outside Uzbekistan’s capital.

To learn more about Masharipova, visit the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs’ website at http://exchanges.state.gov/alumni/alumnus.html.

* The Teaching Excellence Awards program is now known as the Teaching Excellence and Achievement Award (TEA).

Media Contact: Lisa Barton, ECA_PASC@state.gov .


PRN: 2012/1748