J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Elects Chairman and Vice Chair for 2012

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
January 3, 2012

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB) elected Tom Healy as chairman at its quarterly meeting in Washington, DC on December 6, 2011. The Board elected Susan Ness to serve as vice chair.

Tom Healy of New York City and Miami was appointed to the FSB by President Obama in 2011. Mr. Healy, a poet and writer, teaches at New York University. He is a visiting professor at The New School and has also taught at the Gorée Institute in Dakar. He served as president of the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council and received the 2006 New York City Arts Award from Mayor Michael Bloomberg for his work to rebuild the downtown arts community after 9/11. Mr. Healy is a trustee of the Miami Poetry Festival and public arts presenter for Creative Time. He was a member of President Clinton's White House Council on HIV/AIDS and has traveled the world for microfinance projects and AIDS prevention efforts. He studied at Harvard and Columbia Universities.

Susan Ness of Bethesda, Maryland, also appointed to the FSB by President Obama in 2011, is the founder of Susan Ness Strategies, a communications policy consulting firm, and a Senior Fellow at the Center for Transatlantic Relations at Johns Hopkins University’s Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS). She serves on the Board of Directors of Gannett Co., Inc., and of Vital Voices Global Partnership. From 1994 to 2001, Commissioner Ness served on the Federal Communications Commission, having been appointed by President Clinton. Previously, she was founding president and CEO of GreenStone Media, LLC, which produced and syndicated award-winning talk radio programming targeting women; corporate vice president of the American Security Bank, specializing in the telecom and media sectors; and assistant counsel to the Banking Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board was established by the U.S. Congress to supervise the Fulbright Program and establish worldwide policies. The Board Members, who come from academic, business, cultural, and public life, also select the students, scholars, teachers, and others to participate in the educational exchange programs. Appointed by the President of the United States, the 12-Member Board meets quarterly.

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. Government’s flagship international exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 310,000 participants from over 150 countries with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Media Contact: Catherine Stearns, StearnsCL@state.gov or phone 202-431-1594

PRN: 2012/007