Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board to Hold Quarterly Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
December 5, 2011

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB) will convene for its fourth quarterly meeting on December 6 and 7, 2011. Established by the U.S. Congress and appointed by the President of the United States, the 12-member Board supervises the Fulbright Program and establishes worldwide policies, including selection of students, scholars, teachers, and others to participate in the U.S. Government’s flagship international exchange program.

The Tuesday, December 6 meeting sessions, from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m., and from 3:45 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. will be open to the public, at the Institute of International Education (IIE)/Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), 1400 K Street, NW, Washington, D.C. (7th Floor Conference Room). Those sessions will include Fulbright Program branch reports for Africa, North Africa, and Near East Asia (2:00 p.m.); reports by Board Chair Anita B. McBride and Acting Executive Director Mary Wong (3:00 p.m.); and Board business including the Election of Officers, Committee reports, and highlights from representational travel (3:45 p.m.); and a presentation on Alumni Affairs (4:45 p.m.).

Wednesday, December 7 sessions from 9:00 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. will be open to the public at the American Pharmacists Association (Board Room), 2200 C Street, NW, Washington, D.C. Those sessions will include reports from Principal Deputy Assistant for Educational and Cultural Affairs J. Adam Ereli, (9:00 a.m.); Managing Director of Academic Programs Marianne Craven, Acting Office Director for Academic Exchange Programs Michelle Johnson, Office Director for Global Educational Programs Paul Hiemstra, and Branch Chief for Educational Information and Resources Elizabeth Thornhill (9:30 a.m.); and remarks by Assistant Secretary Ann Stock (R) (10:30 a.m.), followed by a Strategic Communications overview (11:00 a.m.)

Media representatives and other individuals wishing to attend the public sessions should RSVP no later than 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 6, to Catherine Stearns, at StearnsCL@state.gov, phone 202-431-1594 or 202-632-6190, with the following information: name, date of birth, driver’s license number and state or passport number and country. (Please also bring a picture I.D.)

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided over 310,000 participants from more than 155 countries with the opportunity to study, teach, conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

PRN: 2011/2064