Secretary Clinton to Host the Annual World Food Prize Laureate Announcement on June 21

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
June 17, 2011

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will host the 2011 World Food Prize Laureate Announcement Ceremony on June 21 at approximately 12:00 p.m. at the Department of State. Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, the president of the World Food Prize Foundation, will announce the winner of the 2011 World Food Prize during the ceremony. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, USAID Administrator Rajiv Shah and Under Secretary for Economic, Energy and Agricultural Affairs Robert Hormats will also speak at the event.

This event is open to credentialed members of the media.

Pre-set time for video cameras: 11:00 a.m. from the 23rd Street entrance lobby.

Final access time for journalists and still photographers: 11:20 a.m. from the 23rd Street entrance lobby.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the World Food Prize, which recognizes individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The World Food Prize includes a cash award of $250,000 and a sculpture by world-renowned designer Saul Bass. Each year more than 4,000 institutions and organizations are invited to nominate candidates for the prize.

The award will be formally presented in a ceremony at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines, Iowa, on October 13, 2011 in conjunction with the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium. In honor of World Food Prize founder Dr. Norman Borlaug, this year’s October events will also include the Grand Opening of the Norman E. Borlaug Hall of Laureates, an educational center and place to honor all those who have made strides in the fight against hunger.

The World Food Prize is guided by a distinguished Council of Advisors that includes former Presidents Jimmy Carter and George H. W. Bush. For more information on the World Food Prize, visit

Department of State
Bureau of Economic, Energy and Business Affairs Kerry Humphrey
(202) 647-0677

World Food Prize
Megan Forgrave, Director of Communications
(515) 245-3794

Department of State
Office of Press Relations
(202) 647-2492

PRN: 2011/979