The Department of State's William C. Foster Visiting Scholars Program

Media Note
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
November 16, 2010

Today the Department of State released the call for applications for the 2011-2012 William C. Foster Visiting Scholars Program. Assistant Secretaries Rose E. Gottemoeller and Andrew J. Shapiro, and Acting Assistant Secretary Vann H. Van Diepen, issued an open letter to the academic community recruiting applicants for Fellowship positions in the Bureaus of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (AVC), Political-Military Affairs (PM), and International Security and Nonproliferation (ISN).

The Foster Fellows Program was established by Congress in 1983, and over 60 scholars have served since the Program’s inception. Tenured specialists in the physical sciences and other disciplines are afforded an opportunity for active participation in the arms control, nonproliferation, and disarmament activities of the Department of State. This year, the Department is specifically recruiting positions in the disciplines of aeronautical engineering, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, computer/network engineering, electrical engineering, history, information security, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, nuclear physics, physics, and political science.

The Foster Fellows Program is designed to bring fresh ideas from academia into government while providing Fellows with an opportunity to experience and contribute to the policymaking process firsthand.

Applications are due by midnight on January 31, 2011, and Fellows will be selected by the end of February to come onboard by the Fall. More information on the Foster Fellows Program and application process can be found on the website

PRN: 2010/1650