U.S.-China Ten-Year Framework for Cooperation on Energy and Environment

Media Note
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
May 13, 2010

The Governments of the United States and China held the 6th Joint Working Group Meeting of the U.S.-China Ten-Year Framework (TYF) for Cooperation on Energy and Environment on May 11-12 in Washington, DC. Under Secretary for Democracy and Global Affairs Maria Otero and Ambassador Jon Huntsman led the U.S. delegation, while Vice Chairman Zhang Xiaoqiang from the Chinese National Development and Reform Commission led the Chinese delegation. Department of State Assistant Secretary Kerri-Ann Jones of the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs and Department of Energy Assistant Secretary for Policy and International Affairs David Sandalow co-chaired the meetings on behalf of the U.S. During the meetings, the two countries exchanged views on emerging issues including green growth.

Established in June 2008, the Framework facilitates the exchange of information and best practices to foster innovation and develop solutions to the pressing environment and energy challenges both countries face. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, Secretary of Energy Steven Chu, and State Counselor Dai Bingguo participated in the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding to Enhance Cooperation on Climate Change, Energy, and the Environment in July 2009, which further elaborated the role of the Framework and established a new strategic dialogue on climate change.

Each country’s lead agencies implement the TYF, which includes seven action plans -- on air, water, transportation, wetlands, nature reserves and protected areas, electricity, and energy efficiency. In addition, public-private “EcoPartnerships” contribute to TYF goals, with new partnerships being planned in 2010. The expansion of EcoPartnerships, to be announced at the U.S.-China Strategic and Economic Dialogue (S&ED) later this month, will encourage U.S. and Chinese stakeholders to build capacity and commitment to sustainable economic development at the local level.

U.S. agencies involved in the TYF include the Departments of State, Energy, Treasury, Commerce, Interior, Transportation, and Agriculture, as well as the Environmental Protection Agency, the Trade and Development Agency, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and the U.S. Agency for International Development. Participating agencies for China include the National Development and Reform Commission, the State Forestry Administration, the National Energy Administration, and the Ministries of Finance, Environmental Protection, Science and Technology, and Foreign Affairs.

Learn More: View the U.S.-China Ten-Year Framework’s 2009 Memorandum of Understanding

PRN: 2010/618