Joint Statement by the Quartet

Media Note
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
May 11, 2010

The following statement was issued today in New York by the Middle East Quartet (United Nations, European Union, Russian Federation, and the United States):

Begin Text:
The Quartet welcomes the first round of proximity talks between Israelis and Palestinians. These talks are a significant step toward direct, bilateral negotiations and comprehensive peace in the Middle East based on the establishment of an independent and viable Palestinian state living side by side in peace and security with Israel and its neighbors. The Quartet calls on the parties to pursue these talks in good faith and offers its support for their efforts. The Quartet calls on all concerned to promote an atmosphere conducive to the talks and to act on the basis of previous agreements and obligations.

PRN: 2010/603