Third U.S.-SICA Dialogue on Security

Media Note
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
May 4, 2010

Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs Arturo Valenzuela will lead the U.S. delegation to the third U.S.-SICA[1] Dialogue on Security, May 6 and 7, 2010 in Panama City, Panama. The Dialogue will focus on advancing concrete and practical collaborative measures to combat criminal gangs, narco-trafficking, illicit trafficking of arms and other threats to citizen safety in Central America.

Since its first meeting in July 17-18, 2007 in Guatemala City, Guatemala, the U.S.-SICA Dialogue has advanced concrete and practical efforts to combat criminal activity, emphasized the need for partnership and shared responsibility to address common threats, and provided a roadmap to launch a process to develop common approaches to shared security concerns in the region.

The Dialogue will consist of one day of technical talks and one day of vice-ministerial consultations. The U.S. delegation will include representatives from the U.S. Department of State; the U.S. Agency for International Development; the Departments of Justice, Defense, and Homeland Security; along with the Drug Enforcement Administration; the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; the Federal Bureau of Investigation; the Office of National Drug Control Policy; and Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

The following states and organizations have been invited to attend as observers and assist the Dialogue in order to contribute to the common security goals in the region: Colombia, Canada, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Spain, the European Union, the Organization of American States (OAS), the Inter-American Committee Against Terrorism (CICTE), the Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission (CICAD), the Organization of American States/Department of Public Security (OAS/DPS), the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), and the World Bank.


[1] SICA is the Spanish-language acronym for the Central American Integration System. SICA member states include Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. The Dominican Republic is an associate member state and Mexico is an observer state to SICA.

PRN: 2010/563