Secretary Clinton Presents Awards to Inaugural Class of Democracy Video Challenge Winners

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
September 17, 2009

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will deliver brief remarks and present the six global winners of the Democracy Video Challenge with their awards at 1:35 pm on Friday, September 18, 2009 in the Department of State’s Treaty Room. The Democracy Video Challenge, an online competition, asked people around the world to create short videos that completed the phrase, “Democracy is….” The Secretary will be joined by senior representatives from partner organizations and Hernando de Soto, President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy, and the Jury co-chair of the Democracy Video Challenge.

The six winners are from Brazil, Nepal, the Philippines, Poland, the United Arab Emirates and Zambia. For more information about the Democracy Video Challenge, please see

This event will be open to the press.

Pre-set time for cameras: 12:50 p.m. from the 23rd Street entrance

Final access time for writers and stills: 1:20 p.m. from the 23rd Street entrance

Media representatives may attend this event upon presentation of one of the following: (1) A U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification card (driver's license, passport). Press should allow adequate time to process through security and to be in the briefing room 10 minutes prior to the briefing.

Laura Hesselton
Bureau of International Information Programs
(202) 632-9933

Office of Press Relations
U.S. Department of State
(202) 647-2492

PRN: 2009/933