Secretary Clinton to Receive the Roosevelt Institute's Four Freedoms Award at the Roosevelt Institute's Four Freedoms Medals Gala Dinner

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
September 9, 2009

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will accept the Roosevelt Institute’s Four Freedoms Award, which honors a lifetime of distinguished service and an unwavering commitment to freedom, on Friday, September 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

On January 6, 1941, in one of the most important speeches of the 20th century, President Roosevelt proclaimed four freedoms essential to any flourishing democracy: freedom of speech and expression, freedom of worship, freedom from want, and freedom from fear.

Each year, a single individual is selected for the FDR Four Freedoms Award. Previous honorees have included some of the most distinguished Americans of our time, including Presidents Truman, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton; Coretta Scott King; Elie Wiesel; Katharine Graham; Robert C. Byrd, and Justices William Brennan and Thurgood Marshall. International recipients have included: Princess Juliana of the Netherlands, the Dalai Lama, H.M. Juan Carlos of Spain, Mary Robinson, Desmond Tutu, Shimon Peres, Kofi Annan and Nelson Mandela.

In addition, each year, a Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Medal representing each of these values is presented to an individual whose life and work embody that ideal. This year, Anthony D. Romero and the ACLU will be the Freedom of Speech and Expression Medal Recipients, Eboo Patel and the Interfaith Youth Core will be the Freedom of Worship Medal Recipient, Vicki B. Escarra and Feeding America will be the Freedom from Want Medal Recipient, and Pasquale J. D’Amuro will be the Freedom from Fear Medal Recipient.

The event will be open to the press. RSVP to by Thursday, September 10. Space is limited.

Office of Press Relations
U.S. Department of State
(202) 647-2492

Roosevelt Institute
Adrienne Willis

PRN: 2009/884