1718 Committee Designations

Press Statement
Robert Wood
Acting Spokesman, Bureau of Public Affairs
Washington, DC
July 16, 2009

The United States is pleased that the UN’s 1718 Sanctions Committee today designated a number of individuals, entities and goods related to North Korea’s nuclear, ballistic missile, and other WMD-related programs of proliferation concern, thereby making them subject to the sanctions measures adopted by the Security Council in resolutions 1718 and 1874. The entities and individuals will now be subject to an asset freeze, and the individuals will also be subject to a travel ban. Further, this decision expands the list of goods related to the DPRK’s missile related programs banned for export or import.

These designations -- along with the other measures in resolution 1874 -- constitute a serious and credible response to the May 25 nuclear test and put in place stronger and more credible sanctions than ever before in regards to North Korea. We look forward to continuing to work with the Committee to designate additional items that could contribute to the DPRK’s nuclear, ballistic missile, other WMD-related, and conventional arms programs to prohibit their transfer to or from North Korea and to designate additional individuals and entities engaged in or providing support for these programs.

The Committee made this decision by consensus, further demonstrating the international community’s unity and willingness to take concrete action to respond to the North Korean nuclear and missile threat.

The United States again reiterates its call on North Korea to fulfill its commitments under the September 19, 2005 Joint Statement of the Six-Party talks, to eliminate its nuclear weapons program, and return to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons and to IAEA safeguards.

PRN: 2009/745