Secretary Clinton to Present 2009 Awards for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad

Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
December 7, 2009

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will present the 2009 Associates of the American Foreign Service Worldwide Secretary of State’s Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad to six winners of different geographic regions. The ceremony will be Tuesday, December 8, 2009, at 10:45 a.m. in the Benjamin Franklin Diplomatic Reception Room at the Department of State. These awards are sponsored by the Associates of the American Foreign Service Worldwide.

The Awards recognize U.S. Government employees, family members, domestic partners and other members of household at embassies and consulates who gave exceptional volunteer service to their communities, host country or expatriates, or rendered outstanding assistance in emergencies. This year’s award winners include:

Erin P. Sweeney – Lagos, Nigeria (Africa)
JanMarie Flattum-Riemers - Jakarta, Indonesia (East Asia and Pacific)
Lara L. Center - Luxembourg (Europe)
Joseph A. Taylor – Baghdad, Iraq (Near East and South East Asia)
Bernadetta J. Ruch – Dushanbe, Tajikistan (South Central Asia)
Jan Irene Miller – Panama City, Panama (Western Hemisphere)

Pre-set time for cameras: 9:45 a.m. from 23rd Street entrance
Final access time for all press: 10:30 a.m. from 23rd Street entrance

Media representatives may attend this award ceremony upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification (driver’s license or passport). Those who do not have a State Department building pass should allow adequate time to clear through security at the 23rd Street entrance.

The award ceremony is open for press coverage. Members of the press wishing to attend should contact Public Affairs Officer Brenda Greenberg at (202) 647-4282

Office of Press Relations, U.S. Department of State
(202) 647-2492

A brief synopsis of the volunteer activity that earned each winner her/his award can be found at:

PRN: 2009/1237