Hispanic Heritage Month 2015

During National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15) we recognize the contributions made and the important presence of Hispanic and Latin Americans to the United States and celebrate their heritage and culture.

Hispanic Heritage Month, roots going back to 1968, begins each year on September 15, celebrating the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Mexico, Chile, and Belize also celebrate their independence days during this period and Columbus Day (Día de la Raza) is October 12. This year's theme is “Honoring our Heritage. Building our Future.”  2015 Presidential Proclamation»  More»