AG/RES. 2442 (XXXIX-O/09) Consolidation of the Regime Established in the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco)

Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs
June 4, 2009

(Adopted at the fourth plenary session, held on June 4, 2009)


HAVING SEEN the Annual Report of the Permanent Council to the General Assembly, in particular the section on the Committee on Hemispheric Security (AG/doc.4992/09 add. 1);

RECALLING its previous resolutions on this topic, especially resolutions AG/RES. 1499 (XXVII-O/97), AG/RES. 1571 (XXVIII-O/98), AG/RES. 1622 (XXIX-O/99), AG/RES. 1748 (XXX-O/00), AG/RES. 1798 (XXXI-O/01), AG/RES. 1903 (XXXII-O/02), AG/RES. 1937 (XXXIII-O/03), AG/RES. 2009 (XXXIV-O/04), AG/RES. 2104 (XXXV-O/05), AG/RES. 2245 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2298 (XXXVII-O/07), and AG/RES. 2377 (XXXVIII-O/08);

BEARING IN MIND that the Declaration on Security in the Americas affirmed that the establishment of the first nuclear-weapon-free zone in a densely populated area through the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco) and the protocols thereto constitutes a substantial contribution to international peace, security, and stability;

REAFFIRMING that the consolidation of the nuclear-weapon-free zone set forth in the Treaty of Tlatelolco constitutes a firm demonstration of the steadfast commitment of Latin America and the Caribbean to the cause of complete and verifiable nuclear disarmament and the nonproliferation of nuclear weapons, in keeping with the principles and purposes of the Charter of the United Nations;

CONSIDERING that, under Article 1 of the Treaty of Tlatelolco, the Contracting Parties undertook “to use exclusively for peaceful purposes the nuclear material and facilities which are under their jurisdiction, and to prohibit and prevent in their respective territories: (a) the testing, use, manufacture, production or acquisition by any means whatsoever of any nuclear weapons, by the Parties themselves, directly or indirectly, on behalf of anyone else or in any other way, and (b) the receipt, storage, installation, deployment and any form of possession of any nuclear weapons, directly or indirectly, by the Parties themselves, by anyone on their behalf or in any other way,” and that the Contracting Parties also undertook “to refrain from engaging in, encouraging or authorizing, directly or indirectly, or in any way participating in the testing, use, manufacture, production, possession or control of any nuclear weapon”;

CONSIDERING ALSO that Article 17 of the said Treaty states that nothing in its provisions “shall prejudice the rights of the Contracting Parties, in conformity with this Treaty, to use nuclear energy for peaceful purposes, in particular for their economic development and social progress”;

RECALLING that the preamble to the Treaty of Tlatelolco states that militarily denuclearized zones are not an end in themselves, but rather a means for achieving general and complete disarmament at a later stage;

REAFFIRMING the importance of strengthening the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL) as the appropriate legal and political forum for ensuring the full force and effect of the Treaty of Tlatelolco, as well as cooperation with the agencies of other nuclear-weapon-free zones, in order to achieve their common objectives;

TAKING NOTE of the Meeting of Focal Points of Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones and Mongolia, held in Ulan Bator, Mongolia, on April 27 and 28, 2009;

BEARING IN MIND the upcoming 2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT);

CONVINCED that internationally recognized nuclear-weapon-free zones are making an important contribution to the international disarmament and nonproliferation regime as well as to the maintenance of international peace and security;

RECOGNIZING that the Treaty of Tlatelolco has become the model for the establishment of other nuclear-weapon-free zones in various regions of the world, such as the South Pacific (Treaty of Rarotonga), Southeast Asia (Treaty of Bangkok), Africa (Treaty of Pelindaba), and Central Asia (Treaty of Semipalatinsk), which, when they enter into force, will cover more than half the countries of the world and all territories in the Southern Hemisphere; and

UNDERSCORING its firm support for all actions undertaken by the states parties, associated states, and OPANAL to strengthen the denuclearization regime envisaged in the Treaty of Tlatelolco,


1. To call upon those states of the region that have not yet done so to sign or ratify the amendments to the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco), adopted by the General Conference of the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL) in resolutions 267 (E-V), 268 (XII), and 290 (E-VII).

2. To reaffirm its commitment to continue striving for a disarmament and nonproliferation regime that is universal, genuine, and nondiscriminatory in every aspect.

3. To express appreciation for the report OPANAL presented to the Committee on Hemispheric Security (CSH) on February 26, 2009, and to call upon it to continue, in its area of competence, to maintain ongoing contact with the Committee and report to it periodically on the fulfillment of the commitments undertaken by the states of the region in the Declaration on Security in the Americas, in particular, paragraph 11 thereof, as they pertain to nonproliferation of nuclear weapons.

4. To recognize the work of OPANAL in ensuring compliance with the obligations undertaken in the Treaty of Tlatelolco.

5. To support OPANAL’s cooperation and coordination mechanisms with the Treaties of Rarotonga, Bangkok, Pelindaba, and Semipalatinsk, with Mongolia, and with any that may be established in the future, as well as with their respective agencies, in order to expedite the achievement of common objectives, as agreed to at the Conference of States Parties and Signatories to Treaties that Establish Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones, held in Mexico City in April 2005.

6. To entrust the Permanent Council with holding, in the framework of the CSH, a meeting in the first half of 2011 on consolidation of the regime established in the Treaty of Tlatelolco, with the support of OPANAL and the participation of the United Nations and other appropriate international institutions competent in the area.

7. To urge the states to participate constructively in the work of the 2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT).

8. To request the Permanent Council to report to the General Assembly at its fortieth and forty-first regular sessions on the implementation of this resolution, the execution of which shall be subject to the availability of financial resources in the program-budget of the Organization and other resources.

9. To request the Secretary General to forward this resolution to the Secretary-General of the United Nations and to the Secretary General of OPANAL.