Enhanced Partnership in Northern Europe (e-PINE)

The United States seeks in Northern Europe a safe, secure, and supportive environment for advancing an agenda of interests that we share with the eight Nordic and Baltic nations of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden. These states are important U.S. allies and friends, and together contribute to the vision of Europe "whole, free and at peace."

Given the tremendous progress made in the region over the last decade, the United States has revised its existing policy and is introducing the Enhanced Partnership in Northern Europe, or e-PINE, as its framework for U.S. activity within and in cooperation with the eight Nordic and Baltic States. The three broad areas of focus for our cooperation under e-PINE will include cooperative security; healthy societies; and vibrant economies.