New York City, NY


Photo of New York City [© Shutterstock������]
OFM's New York Regional Office, located in New York City, covers the states of Connecticut, Delaware,  Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont. OFM/NY's clientele encompasses the United Nations community, with over 200 missions and agencies, and the consular communities in New York, Boston, and Philadelphia, as well as individual consulates in other cities.

In accordance with the Foreign Missions Act (22 U.S.C. 4301-4316) and the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, OFM New York is responsible for ensuring equitable treatment of U.S. diplomatic and consular personnel abroad and providing, on a reciprocal basis, appropriate privileges, benefits and services to the foreign mission community in the U.S.

OFM New York is also responsible for ensuring compliance of diplomatic privileges and immunities for foreign diplomats and officials residing in the U.S. including: tax exemptions, diplomatic duty-free customs clearances, motor vehicle registrations and drivers licensing.

Furthermore, OFM New York is responsible for regulating the activities of foreign missions in the U.S. in a manner that is in accordance with both foreign policy and national security interests of the United States. OFM regional offices liaise with local, state and federal government agencies in matters affecting foreign consular representation, immunities and privileges, and reinforce the Bureau of Consular Affairs’ message to law enforcement agencies regarding consular notification in the event of arrest, detention, or death of foreign nationals.


Contact Us:

Office of Foreign Missions 
799 United Nations Plaza, 8th floor
New York, NY 10017
(646) 282-2825

Operating hours for the New York Office are Monday thru Friday from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm.