Asset Sharing

Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs

Pursuant to the provisions of U.S. law, including 18 U.S.C. § 981(i), 21 U.S.C. § 881(e)(1)(E), and 31 U.S.C. § 9703(h)(2), the Departments of Justice, State, and Treasury have aggressively sought to encourage foreign governments to cooperate in joint investigations of narcotics trafficking and money laundering, offering the possibility of sharing in forfeited assets. A parallel goal has been to encourage spending of these assets to improve narcotics-related law enforcement. The long term goal has been to encourage governments to improve asset forfeiture laws and procedures so they will be able to conduct investigations and prosecutions of narcotics trafficking and money laundering that include asset forfeiture.

From Fiscal Year (FY) 1989 through FY 2015, the international asset sharing program administered by the Department of Justice shared $258,333,279 with 48 countries. In FY 2015, the Department of Justice shared a total of $8,790,087 with five countries and shared with Curacao for the first time. Prior recipients of shared assets include: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, the Turks and Caicos Islands, the United Kingdom, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

To date, Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Canada, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom have shared forfeited assets with the United States.

The United States has permanent bilateral forfeited asset sharing agreements with 20 countries. During FY 2015, new sharing agreements entered into force with Guernsey and Jersey. Other such agreements are in force with Andorra, Anguilla, Austria, the British Virgin Islands, Canada, the Cayman Islands, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Mexico, Monaco, Montserrat, Netherlands, Singapore, the Turks and Caicos Islands, and the United Kingdom.

From FY 1994 through FY 2015, the international asset-sharing program administered by the Department of Treasury shared $40,343,787 with foreign governments that cooperated and assisted in successful forfeiture investigations. Recipients of shared assets include: Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, the Bahamas, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Guernsey, Honduras, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Portugal, Qatar, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and Vietnam.