Western Hemisphere

The report entitled "Country Reports on Human Rights Practices" is submitted to the Congress by the Department of State in compliance with sections 116(d) and 502B(b) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 (FAA), as amended, and section 504 of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended. The law provides that the Secretary of State shall transmit to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Foreign Relations of the Senate,  "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights, within the meaning of subsection (A) in countries that receive assistance under this part, and (B) in all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations and which are not otherwise the subject of a human rights report under this Act." We have also included reports on several countries that do not fall into the categories established by these statutes and that thus are not covered by the congressional requirement.

03/11/10  Antigua and Barbuda
03/11/10  Argentina
03/11/10  Bahamas, The
03/11/10  Barbados
03/11/10  Belize
03/11/10  Bolivia
03/11/10  Brazil
03/11/10  Canada
03/11/10  Chile
03/11/10  Colombia
03/11/10  Costa Rica
03/11/10  Cuba
03/11/10  Dominica
03/11/10  Dominican Republic
03/11/10  Ecuador
03/11/10  El Salvador
03/11/10  Grenada
03/11/10  Guatemala
03/11/10  Guyana
03/11/10  Haiti
03/11/10  Honduras
03/11/10  Jamaica
03/11/10  Mexico
03/11/10  Nicaragua
03/11/10  Panama
03/11/10  Paraguay
03/11/10  Peru
03/11/10  Saint Kitts and Nevis
03/11/10  Saint Lucia
03/11/10  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
03/11/10  Suriname
03/11/10  Trinidad and Tobago
03/11/10  Uruguay
03/11/10  Venezuela