Western Hemisphere

The report entitled "Country Reports on Human Rights Practices" is submitted to the Congress by the Department of State in compliance with sections 116(d) and 502B(b) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 (FAA), as amended, and section 504 of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended. The law provides that the Secretary of State shall transmit to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Foreign Relations of the Senate, by February 25 "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights, within the meaning of subsection (A) in countries that receive assistance under this part, and (B) in all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations and which are not otherwise the subject of a human rights report under this Act." We have also included reports on several countries that do not fall into the categories established by these statutes and that thus are not covered by the congressional requirement.

02/25/09  Antigua and Barbuda
02/25/09  Argentina
02/25/09  Bahamas, The
02/25/09  Barbados
02/25/09  Belize
02/25/09  Bolivia
02/25/09  Brazil
02/25/09  Canada
02/25/09  Chile
02/25/09  Colombia
02/25/09  Costa Rica
02/25/09  Cuba
02/25/09  Dominica
02/25/09  Dominican Republic
02/25/09  Ecuador
02/25/09  El Salvador
02/25/09  Grenada
02/25/09  Guatemala
02/25/09  Guyana
02/25/09  Haiti
02/25/09  Honduras
02/25/09  Jamaica
02/25/09  Mexico
02/25/09  Nicaragua
02/25/09  Panama
02/25/09  Paraguay
02/25/09  Peru
02/25/09  Saint Kitts and Nevis
02/25/09  Saint Lucia
02/25/09  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
02/25/09  Suriname
02/25/09  Trinidad and Tobago
02/25/09  Uruguay
02/25/09  Venezuela