The report entitled "Country Reports on Human Rights Practices" is submitted to the Congress by the Department of State in compliance with sections 116(d) and 502B(b) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 (FAA), as amended, and section 504 of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended. The law provides that the Secretary of State shall transmit to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Foreign Relations of the Senate, by February 25 "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights, within the meaning of subsection (A) in countries that receive assistance under this part, and (B) in all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations and which are not otherwise the subject of a human rights report under this Act." We have also included reports on several countries that do not fall into the categories established by these statutes and that thus are not covered by the congressional requirement.

02/25/09  Angola
02/25/09  Benin
02/25/09  Botswana
02/25/09  Burkina Faso
02/25/09  Burundi
02/25/09  Cameroon
02/25/09  Cape Verde
02/25/09  Central African Republic
02/25/09  Chad
02/25/09  Comoros
02/25/09  Congo, Democratic Republic of the
02/25/09  Congo, Republic of the
02/25/09  Cote d'Ivoire
02/25/09  Djibouti
02/25/09  Equatorial Guinea
02/25/09  Eritrea
02/25/09  Ethiopia
02/25/09  Gabon
02/25/09  Gambia, The
02/25/09  Ghana
02/25/09  Guinea
02/25/09  Guinea-Bissau
02/25/09  Kenya
02/25/09  Lesotho
02/25/09  Liberia
02/25/09  Madagascar
02/25/09  Malawi
02/25/09  Mali
02/25/09  Mauritania
02/25/09  Mauritius
02/25/09  Mozambique
02/25/09  Namibia
02/25/09  Niger
02/25/09  Nigeria
02/25/09  Rwanda
02/25/09  Sao Tome and Principe
02/25/09  Senegal
02/25/09  Seychelles
02/25/09  Sierra Leone
02/25/09  Somalia
02/25/09  South Africa
02/25/09  Sudan
02/25/09  Swaziland
02/25/09  Tanzania
02/25/09  Togo
02/25/09  Uganda
02/25/09  Zambia
02/25/09  Zimbabwe